MLL: Florida Launch Prepare for 2019 Season

The Florida Launch are preparing for the 2019 Major League Lacrosse season right here in South Florida.

For those of you new to Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the league consists of nine teams.

  • Florida Launch
  • Atlanta Blaze
  • Boston Cannons
  • Charlotte Hounds
  • Chesapeake Bayhawks
  • Dallas Rattlers
  • Denver Outlaws
  • New York Lizards
  • Ohio Machine


New Home Stadium in 2019


The Launch are Florida’s only MLL team and joined in the 2014 league expansion. Home games were formerly at FAU Stadium, in 2019 they will call Broward Central Stadium in Lauderhill home. The team is owned by Jim Davis, the founder and chairman of New Balance.

Tom Mariano is the head coach of the Launch, Mariano took over in the 2017 season and led them to their first and only playoff appearance. Mariano also coaches in the college ranks at Pace University and had previous MLL stops in Chesapeake and Ohio.


2019 Major League Lacrosse Draft Announced


The 2019 MLL Draft will be held March 9th at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina. It will be streamed live by the Lax Sports Network beginning at 7PM EST. The Ohio Machine own the first pick in the draft, Florida will be next on the clock with the second selection.


The 2019 season for the Launch kicks off on Friday May 31 when they host Atlanta. Major League Lacrosse plays a 16-week season from late May through September. The All-Star game will be held Saturday July 27th in Annapolis, the home of the Chesapeake Bayhawks.

You can purchase tickets for the Florida Launch here.

Follow the Florida Launch on Twitter @Florida_Launch.

Check back for more coverage of the Florida Launch here at the Miami Sports Wave leading up to the regular season. 

Stay tuned for another big announcement from the team Friday Jan. 25th on their website



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *